Eldora Dirt Derby preview

Ladies and Gentlemen, it’s time to sling some mud! The start of the NASCAR Gander Outdoors Trucks Series are at the famed Eldora Speedway for Thursday nights 7th annual Eldora Dirt Derby. Since 2013, Eldora has easily become the truck series premiere even on the calendar and recent years have proven why. Last year’s winner, Chase Briscoe win in a photo finish. Now for those of you who don’t know how the Dirt Derby works, it’s not your typical race. They run the event like a true Saturday night local short track event. Today, the trucks will have 2 practice sessions. Those lap times will determine the starting positions for the 5 10 lap “heat” races. Only the top 5 finishers in each heat race are secured a spot in the “feature” race. The “Last Chance Qualifying” Race consists of a 15 lap race to determine positions 26-29. Caution laps do not count during all qualifying and LCQ races. The main event or “A Main” in the short track world. Is a 150 lap race broken down into 3 segments. The 1st segment is 40 laps, segment 2 is 50 laps and the final segment is 60 laps. In 2013, the event became an instant classic when Norm Benning beat and banged his way to a 5th place finish in the LCQ.

Facts about Eldora Speedway

Eldora is a half mile clay track located in Rossberg, Ohio. The track has 24 degrees of banking in the turns and 8 degrees on the straights. NASCAR legend Tony Stewart bought the track from Earl Baltes in 2004 and since then has become the premier destination for dirt track racing.

Race Information

Qualifying races: 7pm (FS1, MRN Radio, SiriusXM Nascar Radio channel 90) Each heat is 10 laps and cautions don’t count. Heat races determine positions 1-25

Last Chance Qualifying Race: 15 laps and once again caution laps don’t count. Top 5 advance to determine positions 26-29.

Eldora Dirt Derby: 9pm (FS1, MRN Radio, SiriusXM Nascar Radio Channel 90) 150 laps. Segment 1: 40 laps, Segment 2: 50 laps, Segment 3: 60 laps.

Pervious Winners.

2013: Austin Dillion

2014: Darrell Wallace Jr

2015: Christopher Bell

2016: Kyle Larson

2017: Matt Crafton

2018: Chase Briscoe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.